Baidu Facebook Sina Youtube LYJMFC Channel
Announcement of Winners of 2016 New World Scholarship for Summer Studies in Music
11/07/2016 (Mon)

The Lin Yao Ji Music Foundation (LYJMF) is pleased to announce the results of the 2016 New World Scholarship for Summer Studies in Music of the Lin Yao Ji Music Scholarship Program.

The scholarship recipients of this year are young violinists Ms Angela Sin Ying Chan and Mr Hao Li, who will be attending the Verbier Festival in Switzerland and Aspen Music Festival and School in the U.S. this summer.

The 18-year-old Ms Angela Chan was born in Hong Kong, and began learning the violin at the age of three from her mother.  She later studied with Professor Michael Ma at the Hong Kong Academy of Performing Arts, and with Professor Vera Tsu Wei at the Middle School affiliated to Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing.  In 2013, Chan started her studies at the Curtis Institute of Music, Philadelphia, under a full scholarship grant, and is now studying with Professor Shmuel Ashkenasi and Professor Aaron Rosand.  Chan has performed with the China Philharmonic Orchestra and the EOS Orchestra of Beijing.  

17-year-old Mr Hao Li is the concertmaster of China Youth Chamber Orchestra and “Wa Ha Ha” Four Seasons Chamber Orchestra, and started learning the violin at age four.  He entered the Pre-College of China Central Conservatory at age 10 and studied with Mr Xiao Liu and Mr Weijian Tang. In 2015, he performed with “Wa Ha Ha” Four Seasons Chamber Orchestra as a soloist in Beijing and Taiwan.

The New World Scholarship for Summer Studies in Music, which is generously supported by the New World Group Charity Foundation, and provides full scholarships for awardees to participate in prestigious classical music festival academies such as Aspen Music Festival and School, Heifetz International Music Institute and Verbier Festival.  The New World Scholarship for Summer Studies in Music forms part the concurrent LYJMF Scholarship Programs alongside the Jessica Hung Scholarship, which supports local and mainland music talents in pursuing postgraduate and undergraduate studies in music.   

More information about New World Scholarship for Summer Studies in Music can be found on

Photos More

Videos More
Russian Folk Tune
Concerto for Four Violins in B minor, Op. 3, No. 10 (Antonio Vivaldi)
String Quartet in D Major Op.1 No.3 Joseph Haydn 1st Mov. Adagio
| Contact Us | Site Map |